## **Appointment - D&S IFCA's Byelaw and Permitting Sub- Committee**

## Officers' Recommendations

- 1. That all existing members of the B&PSC stand for a further twelve months and should therefore be re-appointed *en bloc*.
- 2. That the Authority identifies the Local Authorities' members to serve on the B&PSC.
- 3. That the Authority identifies other General Members to serve on the B&PSC.

## **Background**

The Terms of Reference (TOR) for the Byelaw and Permitting Sub-Committee (B&PSC) have been reviewed by D&S IFCA's Governance Working Group (GWG). If adopted, as set out in the Officers' paper, the total membership can consist of the following:

- All General Members
- Two representatives from the Funding Authorities
- One representative from Natural England (NE)
- One representative from the Environment Agency (EA)

The B&PSC is vital to drive much of the Authority's work forward and has delegated powers for decision making; however, six members must be present for the B&PSC meeting to be quorate. In June 2021, the risk that insufficient numbers of members attending the B&PSC meeting resulted in a need to cancel and re-arrange the meeting.

Cancelled or delayed B&PSC meetings can have a significant impact on the timely delivery of essential work. It is envisaged that increasing the total membership and lowering the level needed to be quorate can help to mitigate this risk while still maintaining a suitable level of mixed representation. All General Members are encouraged to join the B&PSC if possible.

The B&PSC has lost some members in recent times. Of the current 14 General Members (excluding two vacancies) only nine sit on the B&PSC. Current membership consists of the following:

| Elected Members | Statutory Members    | General Members         |
|-----------------|----------------------|-------------------------|
|                 | Sangeeta McNair (NE) | Professor Mike Williams |
|                 | Simon Toms (EA)      | James Marsden           |
|                 |                      | Jon Dornom              |
|                 |                      | David Morgan            |
|                 |                      | Felicity Sylvester      |
|                 |                      | Dave Saunders           |
|                 |                      | Andy Wray               |
|                 |                      | Jim Masters             |
|                 |                      | Rachel Irish            |

End.