Appointment - D&S IFCA's Byelaw and Permitting Sub-Committee

Officers' Recommendations

- 1. That all existing Members of the B&PSC stand for a further twelve months and should therefore be re-appointed *en bloc.*
- 2. That the Authority identifies the Elected Members to serve on the B&PSC.
- 3. That the Authority identifies other General Members to serve on the B&PSC.

Background

The Terms of Reference (TOR) for the Byelaw and Permitting Sub-Committee (B&PSC) were reviewed and agreed by the Authority in July 2021. If there are no changes to the TOR (as recommended by Officers), the membership will consist of the following:

- Two representatives from the Funding Authorities
- One representative from Natural England (NE)
- One representative from the Environment Agency (EA)
- General Members (all invited to join)

The B&PSC is vital to drive much of the Authority's work forward and has delegated powers for decision making. In the current TOR, six members must be present for the B&PSC meeting to be quorate.

Cancelled or delayed B&PSC meetings can have a significant impact on the timely delivery of essential work. It is envisaged that increasing the membership and maintaining the level needed to be quorate can help to mitigate this risk while still maintaining a suitable level of mixed representation. All General Members are encouraged to join the B&PSC if possible.

The B&PSC has lost some Members in recent times including Cllr Nick Kelly. Of the current sixteen General Members on the Full Authority, ten sit on the B&PSC. Current membership consists of the following:

Elected Members	Statutory Members	General Members
Cllr Alistair Dewhirst	Jay Boyle (NE)	Dr Emma Bean (Chair)
	Simon Toms (EA)	Professor Mike Williams
		Jon Dornom
		David Morgan
		Felicity Sylvester
		Dave Saunders
		Andy Wray
		Rachel Irish (MMO)
		Wayne Thomas
		Dr Pamela Buchan

Background Papers/Links

Authority meeting minutes – 16th July 2021