Appointments - D&S IFCA's Byelaw and Permitting Sub-Committee Officers' Recommendation

- a) That all existing Members of the B&PSC stand for a further twelve months and should therefore be re-appointed en bloc.
- b) Additional Members volunteer to become Members of the B&PSC.

Background

The Terms of Reference (TOR) for the Byelaw and Permitting Sub-Committee (B&PSC) were reviewed and agreed by the Authority in June 2024. If there are no changes to the TOR (as recommended by Officers in Agenda Item 9), the membership will consist of the following:

Membership

The B&PSC may invite all General Members to attend, and membership may include representatives of the funding Authorities and Statutory Appointees.

- The Chair and Vice-Chairs will be ex-officio members of the B&PSC.
- Other Members may be co-opted as and when this is considered to be appropriate.
- Any Member of D&S IFCA may attend a meeting as an observer.

The B&PSC is vital to drive much of the Authority's work forward and has delegated powers for decision making. In the current TOR, six members must be present for the B&PSC meeting to be quorate. Cancelled or delayed B&PSC meetings can have a significant impact on the timely delivery of essential work. It is envisaged that retaining the membership and the level needed to be quorate can help to mitigate this risk while still maintaining a suitable level of mixed representation. All General Members are encouraged to join the B&PSC or to continue with their membership of the B&PSC. Since the appointments made in June 2024, some Members have left the Authority. There are now no Elected Members appointed to the B&PSC.

Current membership consists of the following:

Elected Members	Statutory Members	General Members
	Jasmine Rix (NE)	Dr Emma Bean (Chair)
	Simon Toms (EA)	Professor Mike Williams (Vice Chair)
		Jon Dornom
		David Morgan
		Felicity Sylvester
		Dave Saunders
		Dr Simon Thomas
		Rachel Irish (MMO)/Neil Smith (MMO)
		Wayne Thomas
		Dr Pamela Buchan
		Mark Day
		Guy Baker
		Charlie Ziemann
		Didi Alayli

Chair of the B&PSC

The current Chair of the B&PSC is Dr Emma Bean.

As per the Terms of Reference for the B&PSC, the B&PSC will appoint a Chair and Vice Chair at its inaugural meeting and at the first meeting following the Annual meeting of D&S IFCA each year thereafter. This will take place at the B&PSC meeting on 26th June 2025. The Chair of the B&PSC shall not be the Chair of the Full Authority.

LOCAL GOVERNMENT (ACCESS TO INFORMATION) ACT 1985

Background Papers

<u>Authority meeting minutes – 20th June 2024</u>

B&PSC Terms of Reference