Our Members

The following is a list of Authority members. Some members have also been appointed as members of the Byelaw and Permitting Sub-Committee (B&PSC). To find out more about the work of the B&PSC please click here. It is envisaged that this website page will be updated and expanded in due course, possibly to include profile information.

The Chair & Vice Chair/s

The Chair: Professor Mike Williams (MMO Appointee)

m.williams@devonandsevernifca.gov.uk

Vice Chair: Dr Pamela Buchan (MMO Appointee)

Pamela is also Chair of D&S IFCA’s Governance Working Group (GWG)

Buchan, Pamela <pb381@exeter.ac.uk

Local Authority Representatives

Councillor Alistair Dewhirst (Devon County Council) & B&PSC Member

alistair.dewhirst@devon.gov.uk

Councillor Ron Peart (Devon County Council)

ron.peart@devon.gov.uk

Councillor Phillip Twiss (Devon County Council)

phil.twiss@devon.gov.uk

Councillor Stuart Hughes (Devon County Council)

Stuart.hughes@devon.gov.uk

Councillor Paul Crab (Devon County Council)

paul.crabb@devon.gov.uk

Councillor Bridget Petty (North Somerset Council)

Bridget.Petty@n-somerset.gov.uk

Councillor Andrew Strang (Torbay Council)

andrew.strang@torbay.gov.uk

Councillor Tony Williams (South Gloucestershire Council)

Tony.Wiliams@southglos.gov.uk

Councillor Alan Preest (Gloucestershire County Council)

alan.preest@gloucestershire.gov.uk

Councillor to be confirmed (Bristol City Council)
Councillor Tom Briars-Delve (Plymouth City Council)

Tom.briars-delve@plymouth.gov.uk

Councillor Mike Murphy (Somerset Council)

Mike.murphy@somerset.gov.uk

General Members (appointed by the Marine Management Organisation)

Rachel Irish (MMO) & B&PSC Member

rachel.irish@marinemanagement.org.uk

01803 853383

D&S IFCA can put you in touch with the following Members by contacting the office.

Dr Emma Bean (Environment/Law) & Chair of the B&PSC (elected 22nd July 2021)
Professor Mike Williams (Environment/Law) & Vice Chair of the B&PSC (from 22nd July 2021)
Dr Pamela Buchan (Environment/Commercial Fishing) & B&PSC Member
Jon Dornom (Commercial Fisheries) & B&PSC Member
David Morgan (Commercial Fisheries) & B&PSC Member
Dave Saunders (Charter Angling) & B&PSC Member
Felicity Sylvester (Fisheries/Education) & B&PSC Member
Natasha Bradshaw (Environment)
Tom Birbeck (Recreational & Commercial Fishing)
Wayne Thomas (Recreational Fishing) & B&PSC Member
Caroline Acton (Marine Environment) & B&PSC Member
Mark Day (Commercial Towed Gear/Fisheries Education) & B&PSC Member
Guy Baker (Conservation & Science Communication) & B&PSC Member
Dr Simon Thomas (Angling) & B&PSC Member
Charlie Ziemann

Statutory Members

Jay Boyle (Natural England) & B&PSC Member

Jay.Boyle@naturalengland.org.uk

07501 104337

Simon Toms (Environment Agency) & B&PSC Member

simon.toms@environment-agency.gov.uk

01208 265052

Page updated: 9th June 2023.